You are here : Gaume Country In a group... Outdoor activities Château de Louppy-sur-Loison

Castle Louppy-sur-Loison

Coordinates

Rue de la Porte Haute, 1

0033(0)329.88.15.49
  • img_0
  • img_1
  • img_2
  • img_3
  • img_4

 

The village of Louppy-sur-Loison, located in a loop of the Loison river, is impressive because it is home to two castles, both classed as Historic Monuments in 1980.
Originally the feudal castle, of which there remains a tower and a curtain wall, was flanked by four corner towers and surrounded by deep moats fed from the river. Aside from its defensive function, evidence of its residential function is shown by the presence of a fireplace and benches under the windows. These vestiges date back to the 13th or 14th century, but the first mention of the castle, erected by Count Theobald 1st of Bar, was at the end of the 12th century. Subsequently, the feudal estate of Louppy was divided between various families until the arrival of the Pouilly family in the 16th century.
As regards the main castle, it was built in 1620 by Simon II of Pouilly, military governor of Stenay attached to the Duchy of Lorraine, and because of its history, its monumental character and the wealth of its decor, it offers one of the most surprising examples of Renaissance style in the region. This unique architectural package served to affirm the might of its patron, and allowed them to play host to the duke and the court. Louis XIV himself lived there during the siege of Montmédy in 1657. Guided visits allow you to explore its courtyards, the remarkable sculptural quality of its porches and gates, its chapel, dovecote and parkland.
The castle’s old wash-house supplies the building with water with the aid of a hydraulic ram system. The neighbouring public wash-house was used by the villagers to do their laundry, drawing water from the fountain at the hermitage. The third wash-house was built on Rue du Bourget. All these water-related heritage landmarks date back to the mid-19th century.
Another monument worth a detour is the chapelle de la Madeleine, whose apse houses the cemetery cross, classed as a Historic monument. Its nave dates back to the 11th century, as confirmed by the Roman openings, and was extended by a diagonal rib vaulted choir in the 16th century.